Coding Adventures

This week I learned a lot about coding, which I had no previous experience with. It was really interesting to learn about it, but it was difficult to do at times!

Before I started experimenting with coding, I took an online hour-long “course” that allowed me to become familiar with it. It was pretty fun to try the coding tasks that they presented, and it was easy to follow. I even got a fancy schmancy certificate.
Screen shot 2014-03-07 at 10.13.03 PM

After I completed the course on the website, I wanted to test out the skills I learned on the Hopscotch App. I started out by just playing around with it, and then I decided to make a picture with coding. Not going to lie, it took a very long time to finish the project. It took a lot of trial and error to figure out how to complete the picture. At one point, I accidentally removed a part of the coding and I could’t figure out what I deleted! It changed my whole picture,
and I was very close to just giving up.

photo-1

However, I was determined to figure it out and complete the project. Finally, after a lot of frustration and persistence, I finished the cake and I was happy with the final product.

photo

My experience with coding taught me a lot. It allowed me to be creative, required me to problem solve, and forced me to be patient and persevere. All of these skills that I used are important for children to use too. Apps like Hopscotch can give children an outlet to use coding in a kid-friendly manner that allows them to make mistakes, learn new things, and accomplish new tasks.

If you want to see the complete cake project, check it out here: https://community.gethopscotch.com/projects/untitled-uzs43ztvisqv9czh3vg70g

-Amanda

2 Comments on Coding Adventures

  1. kellykoshinsky
    March 9, 2014 at 9:44 pm (10 years ago)

    Very neat Amanda. What site did you use? Or program? I did not see where you could create a cake using coding on the site I used. It looks neat.

    Reply
    • Amanda Brace
      March 10, 2014 at 2:29 am (10 years ago)

      I used Hopscotch on the iPad. It was easy to use, but at the same time I was not familiar with coding so it took a while to get the hang of it. It’s a pretty cool app, you should check it out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply