Wipeouts

This week, I decided to do a little research on GIFs. I found out that GIF stands for Graphics Interchange Format. To my understanding, they are images that are compressed to reduce the file size, which end up making a new picture format. I finally decided to create some of my own GIFs. I searched for some tutorials, and I stumbled upon the website http://www.makeagif.com. There are a lot of programs and websites out there to create GIFs, but I found this one really easy to use!

The first GIF is of my sister wake boarding and then wiping out. When she wipes out it looks like she gets sucked into the water. It never fails to make me laugh.

Jenn's Wake boarding Fail on Make A Gif

The second one is of me wiping out on an artificial wave machine called the Flow Rider. Yes, it is slightly embarrassing, but it makes for a good GIF.

FlowRider Wipeout on Make A Gif

Let me know what you think of the GIFs I made, and then create your own!

-Amanda

10 Comments on Wipeouts

  1. Sarah Buchko
    March 21, 2014 at 3:43 am (10 years ago)

    This is so neat Amanda! I’ve always wondered how people made these for websites. Do you have to sign up or anything?

    Reply
    • Amanda Brace
      March 21, 2014 at 2:38 pm (10 years ago)

      Yes you had to sign up, but it was very quick, easy, and free. I think there are other sites that don’t require a sign up, but to sign up for this one is pretty painless.

      Reply
  2. Dean Shareski
    March 22, 2014 at 1:36 am (10 years ago)

    This is fun but also, if you remember Alan Levine shared a little about gifs in his session. I think they can make for interesting stories.

    Reply
    • Amanda Brace
      March 23, 2014 at 5:51 am (10 years ago)

      I do remember that. I am so glad that I’m becoming exposed to so many good story telling tools and that I am learning how to use them in the classroom! Thanks Dean.

      Reply
  3. brooke plant
    March 23, 2014 at 6:20 pm (10 years ago)

    I just laughed out loud. I love your second one, thanks for making my day :)!!!! What a cool program, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. Danielle Carey
    March 25, 2014 at 4:06 am (10 years ago)

    HAHAHA! This is so funny! I can’t believe I haven’t seen the Flow Rider video until now. Made my day 🙂 Thanks for sharing bb!

    Reply
  5. missbeauchesne
    March 25, 2014 at 7:39 pm (10 years ago)

    lol these are so cool!

    Reply
  6. Brittany Sklar
    March 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm (10 years ago)

    Amanda,
    Do you use photographs or video to make GIFs?

    Reply
    • Amanda Brace
      March 30, 2014 at 9:02 pm (10 years ago)

      I used video, but photos are also a possibility!

      Reply
      • Brittany Sklar
        March 31, 2014 at 2:26 am (10 years ago)

        Amanda,
        Thank you for letting me know! That is good to know!

        Reply

Leave a Reply